This Statement on Management Accounting (SMA) looks in-depth at the updated IMA Management Accounting Competency Framework. The enhanced Framework identifies six domains of core knowledge, skills, and abilities that finance and accounting professionals need to remain relevant in the Digital Age and to perform their current and future roles effectively.

The six domains are:

  • Strategy, Planning & Performance
  • Reporting & Control
  • Technology & Analytics
  • Business Acumen & Operations
  • Leadership
  • Professional Ethics & Values

The competencies associated with each domain are outlined and mapped back to the CMA 2020 exam. The CMA exam aligns with the broader body of knowledge specified in IMA’s Competency Framework for finance and accounting professionals.


Download Report